Giving + Thanks = Thanksgiving!

24Nov06

(Thanks to Gina for this “Happy Thursday” submission!)

Well! I find it hard to believe that the holidays are here again – already! But this year – for the first time in my married life – I’m ready for them. My small kids are finally getting older. Being of the ages 6, 4, and 2, their zest for all the small discoveries of the world around them is both comical and astonishing to watch. Needless to say, we are having a great time singing and baking and eating and planning our festivities for the season.

October marked my third year as a beauty consultant. Since I also turned 28 this year, looking back on the last three years of my life is quite interesting. The Mary Kay opportunity found me at just the right time, and if I had it to do over again, I’d sign my agreement without hesitation.
Stopping to ponder who I was then and the woman I’ve developed into as of Thanksgiving Day, 2006, I’d have to say that I’ve “grown up” in the time I’ve been a consultant. Granted, it’s not because of Mary Kay entirely, since most women experience a noted change or settling in their late-20’s, but having something that was mine for the first time really aided me in discovering the individual that was below the surface all along. I married very young, at age 19, and to a man 16 years my senior. Since my main focus was assisting him in ministry, I had no clue about the potential I possessed – not only to be a competent customer service rep, but to be confident and conversant in pretty much any social arena. My husband and friends knew this about me, but if I hadn’t forced myself to breach the “comfort zone” and risk new friendships, I would not be the woman I am today.

The person who was the most constant influence since the start of my career as a consultant was my Director, Robin Blackmon-Dunda. She is excellent at recognizing and drawing out one’s personality. This is definitely a learned skill and one that I am only just beginning to comprehend. I find myself recently stopping to listen to people – instead of immediately launching into my own life’s history! lol Finding out their stories and interests, makes me a better friend, companion, and customer service rep.

…which reminds me. I’m supposed to be writing about “that for which I am thankful”!

I’m thankful for the last three years. Two of them have been the most difficult in my life, but even so, are woven through with many joys and achievements that I’d otherwise never have known or experienced if I’d have only sat at home doing housework and dreaming of heroines in classic novels authored by women centuries before my time.

I’m thankful for Mary Kay Ash and for the company she founded before I was even born. I am proud to be a part of a something bigger. Something that pays bills when necessary and gives me extra money that our budget wouldn’t otherwise afford. I am free to confidently share the product and opportunity and do my part in Enriching Women’s Lives while managing a viable, instantly lucrative, yet flexible business.

I’m thankful for my husband and family. Even on the days when I want to run away to the Caribbean! I’m incredibly grateful for the health and joy that we possess. The thought that I’m molding the character of three tiny, unique persons makes me tremble each day and desire to strive for excellence in everything I do.

I’m thankful for the many, many friends and relationships I’ve built since starting my business. Having an excuse and motivation to reach out and talk to a stranger took my circle of three friends (in our new community) to having more than 275 phone numbers in my cell phone. Some of my customers are my closest friends and I’m awed that a lipstick or a mascara brought us together. My fellow unit members and adoptee consultants – you all mean so much to me. It’s a joy to do life with you!

Happy Thanksgiving!



One Response to “Giving + Thanks = Thanksgiving!”

  1. 1 Emerald Girl

    Thanks for your reflections. I too am grateful for the ways in which Mary Kay has helped me develop and foster some truly fabulous friendships.


Leave a Reply

