Nothing quite as lovely…

16Oct06

…as a restful Sunday afternoon. It’s rainy in the heart of MK country today. The “Home” CD by Michael Buble’ that’s playing in the background perfectly fits my mood and the ambience in this household today.

What about you? What recharges and nurtures your soul? Is it meeting a friend for coffee? Worshipping at church? Reading to your children or grandchildren? A quiet evening all to yourself? (Finding the best deal ever on the clearance rack?)

As women, we are called upon to meet the needs and demands of so many around us. We tirelessly nurture and care for others with genuine compassion. And while we are perfectly equipped to do so, it’s sometimes easy to lose our perspective or purpose in the everyday mundane of work, dishes, diapers and therapy phone calls.

Many times, our weakness and downright exhaustion we encounter, as our bodies take the toll of daily duties, can lead us to question our very purpose for existence. We can hardly remember “why” we got into this in the first place. (Whose idea was it to have these kids??) And who are we, anyway? Our identity seems to have been lost in the shuffle and filed away with last year’s tax refund.

Sometimes then, we fall into a sort of musing pout, longing to “find” ourselves again. In fact, it’s very tempting to get caught up in a search for meaning, and eventually, even leading to a sort of self-serving obsession. But looking for validation from those around us only brings disappointment: we’re seeking for something permanent from beings that are finite and temporal (two big words that basically mean faulty and short-lived). In short, if we count on others to fulfill our basic emotional need for meaning and value, we will end up hurting and confused – worse off than when we started this “quest”.

These musings themselves are one of the things that set us apart as human beings, however. They point us up and away from the everyday distractions that make up every part of our lives in the 21st century. The radio, T.V., computer, and other forms of media keep us from thinking and meditating on who we are as humans and why we have been put on this earth. When we don’t take the time to shut down and recharge and “muse”, we lose sight of our real purpose. In some cases this can even lead to depression and worse.

It’s vital that we stop and remind ourselves of our “why”, regaining our perspective. As a Bible-believing Christian, I recognize that humans are made in the image of God.ย  Acknowledging this value does bring a sense of responsibility, for it compels us to reciprocate. Once we comprehend that our value is intrinsic and not dependent on outside affirmations, we can care for and serve those around us with the contentment we once pursued. This is truly liberating! We are free to fulfill our individual purpose. Everything we work toward seems more attainable, our zeal is fresher. Physical and emotional fatigue does not set our moods, as it once did, for we remember that it is just a temporary side effect caused by our efforts toward something greater than ourselves. Surely every part of our lives – including the pursuit of goals – is best viewed in the light of our God-given meaning.

Go out and make it a Million-Dollar Day!



11 Responses to “Nothing quite as lovely…”

  1. 1 Jerra

    Nice MKRocks!! It’s like you’re reading my mind…I have been praying and meditating for my purpose these past 2 months. I am finding that praying to God and meditating (quieting my thoughts and listening) is really helping. A book I am currently reading has helped me so much with that and it encouraged me to buy a journal to devote to my affirmations and scriptures which I did this morning. And I had a great weekend just “being” with family. My older sis and her youngest son came for the weekend. We went to church this morning, then out to lunch and then a day of shopping in the rain.๐Ÿ™‚ I found an adorable purse on sale and I was offered a new job. I am discovering healthier foods, I started dancing again and I re-commit to my trainer in the morning. I’m planning a super spooky party for the end of the month complete with ghosts and goblins and just having fun!! Who wants to come?๐Ÿ™‚ Also a motto I am trying to live by is to spend money on memories (trips, events etc.) and not material things (as much). These past couple of months have really made me stop and take a breath to look at where my life is and where it’s going. And I’m dealing with the fact that I’ve almost decided it’s not where I had planned. Anyway, thanks for reading…sorry so long…:) Have a great week!! ~Jerra, Winners’ Circle Miss Go Give 2006 ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 2 CB

    This was so perfect to read right now. I have been strugling with these very questions the last 2 weeks and have felt myself sinking into a hole of sadness. Nothing that normally makes me happy has been doing that. I have felt like an empty vessel that had given up everything inside to everyone else and forgot to ask for something in return.
    It is so important for us as women to remember to take the time to recharge and reconnect with God so we can be sure that we are following his will and his purpose for our lives. It is so wonderful to feel as though you are living each day with not only YOUR purpose but Gods for your life. Thanks for reminding me of what it is most that fills me up when I feel I have given everything that is left.

  3. 3 WL

    You have to take time to eat right, work out, and spend time with your family. When you do that, and are consistent this business is fun. It takes just a few min. a day to get a booking. Who knows maybe it is someone like you, who needs to take time for themselves……..

  4. 4 Denai

    I AM WAY TOO EXCITED ABOUT THIS MONTH!!
    Tomorrow is the November “Catch the Dream” Rally. I’ve contacted all my local team members to attend after the call I got today describing what all we have to look forward to. If this is the “most exciting thing since I’ve been in Mary Kay,” then it is a MUST SEE event!!!
    This is perfect timing because next weekend is my first Holiday Open House…setup by my Sunday School teacher at HER HOUSE for a few of us SAHMs. I CAN’T WAIT!!
    One more thing before I sign-off: Please keep Tim and I in your prayers. My car was vandalized last night and the 2 driver’s side tires blew out while Tim was driving it to work today. Thank the Lord Tim was safe, it wasn’t our Jeep Liberty or he could have rolled, and that it wasn’t Victoria and I going down 20 this afternoon! God is sooooo good!!! Anyhow, if you want the full story, email me. The pictures Tim took show there were SQUARES cut into the 2 tires…yet they can’t fingerprint because they use black powder, so we can’t figure out if it was the same neighbor kid who pulled a knife on me in March. :S But, scripture says God will avenge mine enemies.๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 Toni

    I missed the rally again๐Ÿ˜ฆ I really wanted to make it this time. I really miss Robin๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Denai, I’m so sorry about the troubles you had. You and your family are in my prayers.

    God is Good!

  6. 6 Gina

    I know…!! I’ve been sick as a dog this week. This was the first rally/meeting I’ve missed in months. *sigh*

    I’m so excited about what is happening in our lives right now. My business is doing great…with hardly any effort from me. lol

    Toni’s right…God IS good. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I love and miss you guys and look forward to seeing you all soon!

    Gina.

  7. 7 Raechelle

    I miss you guys too! Life with my new man and little man is keeping me busy, but I LOVE MARY KAY!! Because I have spent the last 2 years building my business, my strong customers are keeping me in business with their reorders!!! I wouldn’t sell a non-consumable product for anything!!!

    Well, ladies….Jason officially has my grandmother’s diamond in his possession!!! He took it home with him this weekend. This means he is shopping for my RING!!! I am sure he will ask me before the first of the year, and we will either be married in March or June!!! CRAZY HUH!!! Of course you will ALL be invited!!!!

  8. Wow, Raechelle!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Hurray for consummable products. lol

  9. Hey Mary Kay Rocks!

    You are doing a terrific job of supplying the MK world with a positive perspective on what we do and how we present our selves!

    May God continue to bless each of you and your families as we start into the Holiday season.

    WE ARE ALL SO BLESSED AND I THANK HIM DAILY FOR EACH OF YOU AND WHAT YOU MEAN TO OUR FAMILY’S LIFE!

    Much love and appreciation,

    Jo Ann Blackmon/nsd

  10. 10 Raechelle

    I’M ENGAGED!!!!!!!
    It is official!!!!
    The ring is in the shop being sized!!!
    I pick it up tomorrow!!!!!
    MISS YOU GUYS!!!

  11. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

